The only truth.

She interviewed me

With an illness in my heart 

She was there to ask her questions 

But didn’t know how quite to start

How do you ask a person 

Who can count their time that’s left 

Which moments they regret in life 

And which ones they liked the best,

She didn’t know quite how to ask me 

If I could give her some advice 

When she was given her whole life to live 

And I only got a slice.

She was scared that I would judge her 

For wasting minutes of my time.

So she asked me just one question 

As she heard my old clock chime 

She asked me what it felt like 

Knowing that so soon I would die 

And as I told her my short answer 

She looked me straight into the eye.

” I might know my time is ending 

But pity for you is all I have got 

Since I wake knowing that I m dying 

But you wake pretending that you are not.”

Leave a Reply

